Symphony concert 5:
José Luis Gomez and Gabriela Montero

Apr 2019
Dmitri D. Schostakowitsch Das goldene Zeitalter op. 22 a, Ballett-Suite
Konzert für Klavier, Trompete und Orchester c-Moll op. 35
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Konzert für Klavier und Orchester Nr. 14 Es-Dur KV 449
Sinfonie Nr. 40 g-Moll KV 550
José Luis Gomez © Matthieu Gauchet
José Luis Gomez © Matthieu Gauchet
Virtuoso pianist Gabriela Montero knows how to thrill her audiences with her wide repertoire and exceptional talent at improvisation.This time, the pianist is taking on Mozart’s nimble Piano Concerto No. 14 and Shostakovich’s 1st concerto for piano – an ingenious blend of Russian romance, neoclassicism and music hall, spiced with a generous pinch of experimentation and musical caricature. Wit and verve also add spice to Shostakovich’s ballet music, The Golden Age: a class-transcending football game, including the final solidarity dance between the western workers and the Soviet athletes, provides the occasion for humorously lively rhythms.
Fri., 12. April 2019, 20:00


José Luis Gomez


Soloist (Piano)
Soloist (Trumpet)
Orchester der Komischen Oper Berlin