Symphony concert 4: Ainārs Rubiķis and Arabella Steinbacher

Dmitri D. Schostakowitsch Tahiti Trot op. 16 (Tea for two)
Erich Wolfgang Korngold Konzert für Violine und Orchester D-Dur op. 35
Richard Rodgers My funny Valentine
Claude Debussy Jeux 
Maurice Ravel Daphnis et Chloé, Suiten Nr. 1 und 2
Ainārs Rubiķis © Jan Windszus Photography
Ainārs Rubiķis © Jan Windszus Photography
Hollywood, Broadway and Ballets Russes! – In this violin concerto, which, according to a few reports, »is more for a Caruso than for a Paganini«, Erich Wolfgang Korngold cites numerous themes from his genre-defining film music. Framed by two world-famous Broadway melodies, the concerto will be interpreted by one of tday’s leading violinists, whose playing was praised by the New York Times for its »equilibrium between lyricism and fire.« After intermission, the Komische Oper’s orchestra, led by its General Music Director, will indulge in the playful melodies and fragrant sounds of French Impressionism with two compositions written for Sergei Djaghilev’s Ballets Russes: Debussy's »danced poem« Jeux and Maurice Ravel's longest orchestral work, Daphnis et Chloé.




Arabella Steinbacher
Es spielt das Orchester der Komischen Oper Berlin.